top of page

Communication for Client Brief

Communication for Client Brief

Communication throughout our brief client project from me at least I think has been very positive, I do not think I could have achieved much more, even from the start, our whole group set up a messenger group chat straight away which is the best kind, much easier than snapchat or WhatsApp, this is because you can send full-resolution photos on messenger to each other like our bts photos.

Even from the start, we had plans and were talking to each other very regular, keeping everyone updated with progress such as the proposal, planning and filming dates. This joint effort by all of us set us up in a professional manner, which I was quite proud of indeed.

The next thing I am proud of is our professional emails back and forth to Chris Haynes, from both Anna Barret and I, all emails can be found below, with dates. The thing that is important to me though was our commitment to this project, we have shown in our communication that we were eager and looking forward to making this project happen, this commitment must have had a positive effect on Chris too, as we were not messing him around, and I believe by the end of the project he knew that we were reliable and hard working.

I think our response times were also very good when replying to each other with the exception of Jack Baily who let us know a few hours before filming that he would not be able to make it, even though he knew weeks before, that annoyed me, and I spoke with him about it when we next met, because in business you cannot let that happen or everyone will start taking advantage. However, everyone else in our group other than Jack was relatively active and let me know well in advance of any shoot, whether they could make it or not, this was usually because I asked them in person before in class, where they have to give me an answer straight away.

Speaking directly to and in person, with my tutors and Chris, were extremely beneficial for our project/video, the conversations we had with our tutors were primarily about progress updates and how much we have done so far, but to be honest, we were so far ahead we were kind of left be. This was nice as I could crack on with editing as Dan dropped off a bit and after me repeatedly telling him to make changes, nothing was happening, so I asked Gina what to do, and she told me to make my edit, so that is what I did, I am currently on my 7th render, and I am still going back and forth to Chris with minor changes, I think the one that I have most recently completed will be the last I do for him. Even Dan thought our 6th edit was adequate, so hopefully Chris green lights this most recent edit I have sent to him.

Sometimes with Chris, the only way to get information from him was just to call him, which was ok for me as I am confident on the phone, but no one else in our group wanted to talk to him! It just shows how society has changed now, people would much rather text, but for me, if you call, you can get straight to the point and get your answer and come across without emojis, and it is just black and white what you are talking about, whereas in text you lose that connection you have over the phone, you lose the urgency, people can reply whenever they want, on a call there is no messing around you get an answer straight away, and you can negotiate there and then.

Overall the communication has been great in this project; I could not be happier. Most of the team have put in 100% effort to get this project finished, like Jed he has been fantastic turning up to every shoot and helping me with the editing, fair play to him. I also have to say fair play to me too, I turned a quite stressful project into a walk in the park, there has been barely any stress involved, problems were spotted like the editing and fixed almost immediately, we have not sat back and watched events unravel, Jed and I have been on it, and I hope we have created something usable for Mill Meadow. Below & in the Mill Meadow BTS blog you will find images of all our written communication.

(Including more photos than what is on the BTS blog as this post is newer):

Our Group Chat:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page